Water Safety Instructor

Water Safety Instructors (swimming lessons instructors) are trained to teach children and adults water safety, survival and swimming skills, and give community water safety presentations. It's a fun job that will help you develop teaching and leadership skills. 

Register Online

December Class

December 1 - December 7

Fee: $225.00

  • December 1 – 10:00am-5:00pm at West Hills Social Commons 
  • December 2 – 6:30pm-9:30pm at West Hills Social Commons 
  • December 4 – 6:30-9:30pm at Owatonna Middle School
  • December 7 – 10:00am-5:00pm at West Hills Social Commons

January Class

January 12 - January 26

Fee: $225.00

  • January 12 (Sun) – 9:00am-5:00pm at West Hills Social Commons
  • January 19 (Sun) – 9:00am-5:00pm at West Hills Social Commons
  • January 22 (Wed) – 6:30-9:30pm at Owatonna Middle School
  • January 26 (Sun) – 9:00am-3:00pm at West Hills Social Commons

March 2020 Class

March 23 - March 27

Fee: $225.00

  • March 23 (Mon): 1:30 - 6:30pm at Owatonna Middle School
  • March 24 (Tues): 1:30 - 6:30pm at Owatonna Middle School
  • March 25 (Wed): 1:30 - 6:30pm at Owatonna Middle School
  • March 26 (Thurs): 1:30 - 6:30pm at Owatonna Middle School
  • March 27 (Fri): 1:30 - 5:30pm at Owatonna Middle School

June 2020 Class

June 15 - June 19

Fee: $225.00

  • June 15 (Mon): 8:00am - 1:00pm at River Springs Water Park
  • June 16 (Tues): 8:00am - 1:00pm at River Springs Water Park
  • June 17 (Wed): 8:00am - 1:00pm at River Springs Water Park
  • June 18 (Thurs): 8:00am - 1:00pm at River Springs Water Park
  • June 19 (Fri): 8:00am - 1:00pm at River Springs Water Park

Prerequisites

  • Must be 16 at time class begins.
  • You must attend all classes to pass.
  • No refund will be issued if you do not pass.
  • Strokes you need to know proficiently for at least 25 yards each:
    • Back crawl
    • Breast stroke
    • Butterfly 
    • Elementary backstroke
    • Front crawl

It is highly recommended to start practicing your strokes immediately, especially breaststroke and butterfly. Class is not the time to learn the strokes - you will need to know all the strokes before class begins.