Mayor & City Council

Regular Meeting Schedule

  • 7:00 p.m. on the 1st and 3rd Tuesdays of each month in the Gainey Chambers of the Charles S. Crandall Center at 540 West Hills Circle.

Elected City Officials

The Mayor and City Council members are the elected leaders of the City Government. Each was elected to serve a 4-year term.  

Thomas A, Kuntz

Thomas A. Kuntz

Email Thomas Kuntz

Recent Mayor Proclamations
World Understanding and Peace Month - February 2024

City Council Members
Doug Voss

Doug Voss

Council Member at Large
Email Doug Voss
Dan Boeke

Dan Boeke

Council Member at Large

Email Dan Boeke

Dave Burbank

Dave Burbank

Third Ward
Email Dave Burbank
Nate Dotson

Nathan Dotson

First Ward

Email Nathan Dotson

Kevin Raney

Kevin P. Raney

Fourth Ward 
Council Vice-President
Email Kevin Rainey
Greg Schultz

Greg Schultz

Second Ward
Council President
Email Greg Schultz
Brent Svenby

Brent Svenby

Fifth Ward
Email Brent Svenby


The City Council makes all policy decisions in matters such as: budgets, improvement projects, legislation and zoning.  The Council hires the City Attorney and City Administrator, and confirms appointments to the City’s Boards, Commissions, and Department Head positions.

View Council Meetings

Council Meetings will be livestreamed on the public access channels:  

  • Spectrum Cable - Channel 181 
  • MetroNet - Channel 900  

Recordings of City Council meetings can be viewed any time on Owatonna Live.

Playback of the last Council Meeting will also air on these Public Access Channels at these times:  

  • Wednesdays at 12:30 p.m. and 9:30 p.m.
  • Thursdays at 11 a.m. and 6:30 p.m.
  • Fridays at 7:00 p.m.
  • Saturdays at 4 p.m.
  • Sundays at 4 p.m.